System Design
Best System Design Courses (2026), Ranked by What Interviews Actually Test
Best system design courses (2026), ranked with USD prices: ByteByteGo, Thita, Hello Interview, DesignGurus, Educative and free picks, HLD and LLD.

The best system design course is the one that gets you to explain trade-offs out loud, not the one with the most lessons. Our ranking: ByteByteGo for diagrams and senior-level depth, then Thita's System Design and LLD paths because they put the lessons, the sheets and a whiteboard AI mock interview in one place for $69 once, then Hello Interview, DesignGurus' Grokking and Educative for structured curricula, and the free System Design Primer plus freeCodeCamp if you are starting from zero. A course teaches recognition; the interview tests the conversation, so pick one that lets you practise it, or pair it with a practice platform.
Thita.ai makes an AI mock interview product, so we're a competitor; every competitor price and claim below links to its source, based on vendors' public pages and published reviews checked in October 2026.
What interviews actually test
A system design round, as Hello Interview's own guide describes it, is scored on four themes: Problem Navigation, Solution Design, Technical Excellence, and Communication and Collaboration (Hello Interview). Only one of those four is "knowing the building blocks." That is why we rank courses on four questions:
- Does it teach the building blocks (caching, sharding, replication, queues, consistency)?
- Does it teach a repeatable approach for the 45 minutes (requirements, estimates, design, deep dive)?
- Does it cover case studies at the level you are interviewing for?
- Does it cover low-level design (LLD) or only high-level design (HLD)? Many companies run both.
A fifth question matters as much: can you be tested on what you learned, in the same place? Most courses end at the last lesson. Thita is built so the path, the sheet and the mock interview connect.
Best system design courses at a glance (checked October 2026)
| Rank | Course | Format | Depth | HLD / LLD |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ByteByteGo (Alex Xu) | Text and diagram-first courses, "Ask Alex" AI | Deep, senior-friendly | HLD, plus separate Object-Oriented Design, ML, Mobile and GenAI courses |
| 2 | Thita.ai learning paths | System Design: 12 families, 73 lessons, 26 case studies. LLD: 12 families, 46 lessons. System design and LLD sheets. AI mock interview on a whiteboard | Beginner to senior | HLD and LLD, with mocks |
| 3 | Hello Interview | Written guides, 43 premium videos, guided practice, AI tutor | Deep, senior-friendly | HLD and LLD (45 combined guided problems) |
| 4 | DesignGurus: Grokking the System Design Interview | 82 lessons, 11 videos, 237 assessments, about 20 hours | Beginner to intermediate | HLD (14 case studies) |
| 5 | Educative: Grokking Modern System Design Interview | 220 lessons, 147 quizzes, 20 case studies, 10 AI mock interviews, about 26 hours | Beginner to advanced | HLD |
| 6 | System Design School | Lessons, templates, codelabs, AI-graded practice | Beginner to intermediate | HLD (LLD not stated on its page) |
| 7 | Aced (ex-Exponent) | Course plus peer and AI practice | Not published | Not published |
| 8 | Udemy: Mastering the System Design Interview | About 5 hours of video, 73 lectures | Introductory | HLD |
| 9 | System Design Primer (GitHub) | Open-source reference, 8 design questions, Anki decks | Reference level | HLD, plus 7 OOD questions |
| 10 | freeCodeCamp (YouTube) | A 3-hour course and several shorter ones | Introductory | HLD |
| 11 | Designing Data-Intensive Applications | Second edition (Kleppmann and Riccomini), 2026 | Very deep | Theory behind HLD, not an interview guide |
Sources: ByteByteGo pricing, Thita System Design path, Thita LLD path, Hello Interview pricing, DesignGurus Grokking, Educative course page, System Design School pricing, Aced courses, Udemy course page via search, System Design Primer, freeCodeCamp, Kleppmann's note on the second edition.
Price comparison (USD)
| Course | Entry price | Longer plan | Lifetime | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ByteByteGo | USD price not published on the page we fetched | About $189 for one year (reported, launch sale) | About $499 (reported, launch sale) | PracHub |
| Thita Pro | $14.99 per month | $75 per year (System Design and LLD fit in Pro's two extra paths) | n/a | Thita pricing |
| Thita Lifetime | n/a | n/a | $69 one-time, all 11 paths (about $59 with code THITA15, before tax) | Thita pricing |
| Hello Interview Premium | $47 for 1 month (list $59) | $95 for 1 year (list $119) | $319 (list $399) | PracHub, 14 Oct 2026 |
| DesignGurus | System Design Roadmap $345 (list $416) | Annual Subscription $373 | Lifetime All Courses bundle $1,198 | DesignGurus pricing |
| System Design School | Free tier | Pro $45 per year | Pro Lifetime $99 | pricing |
| Educative | Not stated on the course page; 77 free lessons | See Educative's plans page | n/a | Educative pricing |
| Aced | Not published on the page we could fetch | n/a | n/a | Aced |
| Udemy | Varies with discounts | n/a | n/a | Udemy |
| System Design Primer, freeCodeCamp | Free | n/a | n/a | linked above |
Hello Interview's own page is geo-priced, so the USD figures above come from the cited third-party review. Check each checkout for your final price.
Thita as a fraction of the cost (using only the prices above):
- Thita Lifetime at $69 once is about 14% of ByteByteGo's reported $499 lifetime and about 6% of DesignGurus' $1,198 lifetime bundle.
- It is about 22% of Hello Interview's $319 lifetime.
- Thita Pro at $75 a year is about 40% of ByteByteGo's reported $189 for a year, and it includes the System Design and LLD paths plus 15 AI interviews a month.
1. ByteByteGo: best for diagrams and senior-level depth
ByteByteGo is Alex Xu's platform, built from his System Design Interview books. Its pricing page lists a "System Design Interview" course next to Coding Interview Patterns, Behavioral Interview, Object-Oriented Design Interview, Machine Learning System Design, Mobile System Design and Generative AI System Design courses, plus an AI assistant called "Ask Alex" that it says is trained on the ByteByteGo books (ByteByteGo).
Price. The page names three plans (One Year Access, Lifetime and Yearly) and shows a "50% Off Launch Sale" banner, but the text we could read did not show dollar figures. A third-party 2026 guide reports about $189 for one year and $499 for lifetime under that sale (PracHub). Treat that as unconfirmed until you see the checkout page.
Reviews. Published reviews commonly praise the diagrams and books-to-platform continuity, and note it is a content library rather than a quiz-driven curriculum (Javarevisited on Medium).
Best for: engineers who already know the basics and want sharp, visual walkthroughs. Skip if: you want a guided syllabus with checkpoints.
2. Thita.ai: learn, practise and get tested in one place
Thita pairs two full learning paths with the sheets and a whiteboard mock interview, so the thing you study is the thing you are tested on.
- System Design path: 12 families, 73 lessons and 26 case studies, from building blocks to full designs.
- Low-Level Design path: 12 families and 46 lessons for object-oriented and machine-coding rounds. Few courses in this list cover HLD and LLD together.
- The sheets: the system design sheet and the LLD sheet list the problems by family, so you can track what you have covered.
- AI mock interview on a whiteboard: an AI mock interview where a voice interviewer reads your whiteboard, asks adaptive follow-ups on the trade-offs you drew, and ends with a scored report naming the one thing to fix next. You learn and get tested without leaving the product.
- Everything else in the same account: coding rounds where your code is compiled and run against hidden tests in Python, C++, Java, JavaScript, Go and C# during the voice interview, plus behavioural, resume-based and company-style rounds. More than 30,000 engineers use Thita.
- Try it first: the free 3-question AI mock interview needs no sign-up, takes about 10 minutes and includes one system design question.
Price. Thita Lifetime is $69 one-time (about $59 with code THITA15, before tax) for all 11 learning paths, every pattern and cheatsheet, all 8 pattern sheets, "Go Deep" content, both 90-day roadmaps and 32 AI credits for mock interviews or coach sessions. If you prefer a subscription, Pro is $14.99 a month or $75 a year and includes any two extra paths such as System Design and LLD; Elite is $29.99 a month or $120 a year with all 11 paths and 30 AI interviews a month. See pricing.
Best for: anyone who wants HLD, LLD and spoken practice in one subscription. Pair it with one paid human mock if you want a FAANG engineer's read before the real loop.
3. Hello Interview: best written guides, with a real free tier
Hello Interview's "In a Hurry" track covers Introduction, How to Prepare, Delivery Framework, Core Concepts, Key Technologies, Common Patterns and Question Breakdowns. The page says premium content is "in no way required for this course," and items with a lock icon are premium (for example the Patterns section, and breakdowns such as Yelp, Instagram and Payment System) (Hello Interview).
Price. A third-party review dated 14 October 2026 lists Premium at $47 for 1 month, $95 for 1 year and $319 for lifetime (list prices $59, $119 and $399) (PracHub). Every plan includes 43 premium videos, System Design, LLD, Coding, AI Coding and Behavioral courses, 66 guided practice problems (45 of them system design and LLD combined), 5,000+ candidate-reported questions and an AI tutor (Hello Interview pricing). For a deeper look, see our Hello Interview Premium review.
Coverage. This is one of the few options here that covers HLD and LLD in the same subscription.
Hello Interview vs ByteByteGo: ByteByteGo leans on diagrams and books; Hello Interview leans on a delivery framework, a rubric and guided practice. If you want to be told how you will be scored, pick Hello Interview. If you want to see how a system looks, pick ByteByteGo.
4. DesignGurus: Grokking the System Design Interview
The course page lists 82 lessons across four chapters (approach, trade-offs, problems, glossary), 11 videos, 237 assessments, a beginner level and about 20 hours of study time. The problem chapter covers a URL shortener, Pastebin, Instagram, Dropbox, Messenger, Twitter, YouTube/Netflix, typeahead, rate limiter, web crawler, news feed, Yelp, Uber and Ticketmaster (DesignGurus).
Price. The course page offers a one-time lifetime purchase or an annual plan covering all courses, but shows no number. Its pricing page, as we fetched it, showed a System Design Roadmap at $345 (list $416), an Annual Subscription at $373, and a Lifetime All Courses bundle at $1,198 (DesignGurus pricing). Third-party and affiliate pages quote much lower single-course prices, so confirm at your own checkout.
Is Grokking worth it? It is a well-known, structured option, and the free intro lessons let you test the style. The original Grokking course moved from Educative to DesignGurus and Educative then released a different course (DEV Community), which causes confusion about which "Grokking" you are buying. Most DesignGurus comparisons are written by DesignGurus itself.
Best for: beginners who want structure. Skip if: you need LLD in the same course. The Grokking page covers high-level problems only.
5. Educative: Grokking Modern System Design Interview
Educative's course lists 220 lessons across 52 modules, 147 quizzes, 20 case studies, 10 AI mock interviews with scoring rubrics, an AI tutor and a 45-minute answer framework called RESHADED. Case studies include YouTube, Uber, WhatsApp, Google Maps, a payment system and ChatGPT, tagged beginner to advanced. The page says 77 lessons are free (Educative).
Price. The course page does not state one. Educative's pricing page points to plan comparisons on a separate page, and says cancelling auto-renewal keeps access to the end of the paid period without a refund (Educative pricing).
Best for: text-first learners who want quizzes and some AI practice inside one subscription. It is a large course, so it suits people with several weeks.
6. System Design School: lowest-priced paid option with AI grading
Its page describes lessons, reusable design templates, Docker-based codelabs, a study roadmap and an AI practice tool that gives feedback on each step. Free tools include a QPS calculator and the roadmap (System Design School). The pricing page lists Free, Pro Yearly at $45 a year and Pro Lifetime at $99, with a 7-day money-back guarantee (pricing).
7. Aced (formerly Exponent) system design course
Aced's course page describes the system design course in one line, "Define architectures, interfaces, and databases in a time crunch," and does not show format or price on the page we could fetch (Aced courses). Aced is better known for peer mocks; see our Aced review. We cannot rank it on depth because the vendor does not publish a syllabus we could read.
8. Udemy and Coursera picks
Udemy. "Mastering the System Design Interview" shows a 4.6 rating from 15,626 ratings and 123,572 students, with 73 lectures and about 5 hours of video (Udemy). That is a useful, cheap introduction, but five hours cannot cover case studies in depth. Udemy prices change constantly, so we do not quote one.
Coursera. "Software Architecture" (University of Alberta) teaches architecture patterns, not interview technique (Coursera).
9. Free options
- System Design Primer (GitHub). About 376,000 stars. It covers scalability trade-offs, CAP, DNS, CDNs, load balancers, databases, caching and communication protocols; includes 8 system design questions with solutions and 7 object-oriented design questions (6 with solutions, section marked under development); and ships three Anki decks (GitHub). It is a reference, not a teacher.
- freeCodeCamp on YouTube. Its announcement describes a 3-hour course on designing software systems, and it also hosts shorter courses of 1 to 2 hours (freeCodeCamp). Good for a first pass.
- Hello Interview's free guides, described above, are the most interview-shaped free material here.
- System Design School's free tier includes free course content and practice questions.
10. Designing Data-Intensive Applications (the book)
The second edition, by Martin Kleppmann and Chris Riccomini, was published by O'Reilly in early 2026 (sources give February or March) (Kleppmann). It is the deepest source here on replication, partitioning, transactions and consistency, and it makes senior-level deep dives sharper. It is not an interview guide: it has no 45-minute framework and no case-study drills. Read it after a course, not instead of one.
Learn, then practise: a path by experience level
| Level | Learn (2 to 4 weeks) | Practise (2 to 4 weeks) |
|---|---|---|
| New grad or student | freeCodeCamp video for the shape of the topic, then the Thita System Design path or System Design Primer for structure. Add the LLD path if your campus companies run machine-coding rounds. | Redo 6 to 8 classic designs (URL shortener, rate limiter, news feed) out loud in a system design mock interview. Do 2 to 3 per week. |
| SDE-2 (3 to 6 years) | One main course: Thita, Hello Interview, ByteByteGo or Educative. Use the system design sheet to track coverage. | AI mocks on a whiteboard, then one human mock to calibrate. |
| Senior or staff | ByteByteGo or Hello Interview for case studies, plus DDIA chapters on replication and consistency to prepare deep dives. | Repeat harder prompts, defend trade-offs against pushback, and book human mocks. See AI vs human mock interviews. |
Pick one main course, not three. Most failed rounds come from not practising, not from missing content. For tools that run the mock itself, see best system design interview prep platforms and best mock interview platforms for software engineers.
FAQ
What is the best system design course for interviews?
For diagrams and senior-level depth, ByteByteGo. For learning, sheets and a whiteboard AI mock in one place at the lowest lifetime price here, Thita. For a scoring rubric, Hello Interview. For a quiz-based curriculum, Grokking (DesignGurus) or Educative. Choose by how you learn, then budget time to practise out loud.
Is there a good free system design course?
Yes. Combine the System Design Primer, freeCodeCamp's YouTube courses, Hello Interview's free guides and System Design School's free tier. Together they cover the building blocks and several classic designs. Thita's free 3-question mock, with no sign-up, adds a spoken test.
Is Grokking the System Design Interview worth it in 2026?
It is a structured, beginner-friendly course with 82 lessons and a lot of assessments, and it has a free preview. It covers HLD only. If you already know the basics, a denser resource may serve you better. Check the price at your own checkout.
ByteByteGo vs DesignGurus: which is better?
ByteByteGo is diagram-heavy and aimed at people who can already follow a design; DesignGurus is step-by-step with quizzes. Most comparisons online are affiliate or competitor posts, so try the free previews of both before paying.
Hello Interview vs ByteByteGo?
Hello Interview adds a delivery framework, a stated rubric, guided practice and LLD, with a real free tier. ByteByteGo offers more visual explanations and extra courses (OOD, ML, mobile, GenAI). Both suit senior preparation.
How much does Thita cost compared with other system design courses?
Thita Lifetime is $69 one-time for all 11 learning paths, including System Design and LLD. In the prices above, that compares with $99 for System Design School's lifetime plan, $319 for Hello Interview's, a reported $499 for ByteByteGo's and $1,198 for DesignGurus' bundle. Pro is $75 a year.
What do best system design course Reddit threads recommend?
We could not retrieve current Reddit threads reliably, so we do not quote them. Search r/leetcode and r/developersIndia for recent threads, and treat any comparison from a vendor or affiliate as marketing.
Do I need a low-level design course too?
Often yes. Many companies run an object-oriented or machine-coding round next to the high-level one. ByteByteGo, Hello Interview and Thita offer LLD material; the Grokking course page covers high-level problems only.
Can I pass system design with free resources alone?
Yes, if you practise out loud. Free reading gets you the concepts. The harder part is the 45-minute conversation, which needs repetition with an interviewer, human or AI.
Conclusion
Pick one main course, finish it, and then spend as long practising as you spent studying. For depth and diagrams, ByteByteGo leads. For learning and spoken practice together, Thita is the one to start with: the System Design path and LLD path, the system design sheet, and an AI mock interview on a whiteboard to test what you learned, all in Thita Lifetime for $69 once. Hello Interview, Grokking and Educative suit structured study, and the free primer and freeCodeCamp videos cover tight budgets. Prices above were checked in October 2026 and change often, so confirm them before you buy.
Topics
Related on Thita
Your next step
Try Thita before you decide
The Starter plan is free: pattern sheets, code execution in six languages and an AI mock interview. Pro adds more AI code feedback and mock interviews, company kits and the 90-day roadmaps.